Dragon of the Scribe











{June 25, 2012}   The Science Channel :: 100 Greatest Discoveries: The Big 100

The Science Channel :: 100 Greatest Discoveries: The Big 100.

This is my inspiration for my theory of Discoveries.  All because I noticed something that astonished me greatly.

For those of us who grew up in the 90’s, know who Bill Nye is.  In fact, the theme song still pops in my head when I think of him.  This man is also a very brilliant man.  He knows what all these discoveries are, and has a very firm understanding of HOW that applies to every day lives.  A lot of these discoveries are things so mundane to us today, we take them for granted.

So, I was watching the chemistry episode, with the Periodic Table of Elements.  The professor Bill was talking to, asked if he did indeed, carry a periodic table with him at all times. Bill chuckled and said yes.  The professor took the table, and asked Bill what element was under Nitrogen.

Bill answered Sulfur.  The professor said “No, it’s Phosphorus.  At that point you need to add 8, oxygen is beside Nitrogen – so it’s”  “It’s 7+8= 15 15 being Phosphorus… I see the pattern, I get it now!”

You could SEE the discovery of him learning something new, and while some are more subtle then his reaction here, it made me think.

Discovery is the act of learning.  This is something we have always known about – this is why most people having taken the active time to really think about WHAT CAUSES us to discover?

I believe that the process of Discovery is too fast to be considered anything more than a thought.  What I mean is, this process is done automatically and sets off it’s OWN separate part of functions in CONJUNCTION with your own personal thoughts.

I’m having a hard time putting my words together right now.

There is a saying you are never too old to learn.  Discovering new things isn’t new.  However; I’m noticing something of a bit of a pattern.  I asked my question: Why do HUGE discoveries get our attention?  Why does the discoverer get so much attention?  What makes him different?

Well, here’s some more old news.  We learn from each other.  0.0 WOW!!!  Okay, let’s put it like this – we learn from other people.  We learn from parents, teachers, books, television and other vast media’s.  All of them produced by other people.  Going back to our earliest times of evolution as a species, we also learned from each other.  This is a phenomena into itself.  World wide we connected to each other in some way or another.  We learn about different cultures, we share knowledge across the world – we trade goods with them.  This interconnection is massive.  It’s also the reason why we have a hard time accepting new concepts.  Something that could change how the connection is linked, makes it very difficult to be accepted. Not only that, most people don’t know how to look beyond it.

A genius is someone who looked outside the interconnection of human learning.  A person who asked themselves – I wonder what that is – only to be bombarded with ‘truths’ from the majority of people.  A person who is a genius is not someone who is just smart.  It’s someone who wanted to be different in a big way. It’s someone who wanted to change and create a new interconnection starting point.

Why do we call some great discoveries “breakthroughs”?  Imagine a spiderweb. A spider web consists of several guidelines, then reinforced by smaller webbing.  The guidelines represent the major subjects of science.

  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Geology (I know it’s Earth Science now…but I like the word 😦 )

…. and so on.  Now imagine each of the webbing strands is the rest of us learning from each other.  Most of us accept that the guide webs are solid, strong and secure.  There are some people who see something different.  One see’s the web shift in the wind… another sees other threads … and one see’s the guideline twitch. Each time they ask these questions, the web moves.

Now, when someone asks these questions and proves something so remarkable – it breaks that entire section of webbing.  It now allows for people to completely rebuild it in a totally remarkable fashion.  Now, that part of the web has been built on a foundation of a brave soul not afraid to follow that remarkable discovery.

This is what a discovery does to us.  Every discovery made by a person, changes the web.  Sometimes insignificant, and sometimes massive.

There is still so much more about the subject that I want to talk about.  I think I’m going to leave it at this.

Is Discovery a Web?

Reblogged this on Vijana wetu and commented:
A genius is someone who looked outside the interconnection of human learning



Thank you for reblogging, as well as showing me something that I completely missed. I had no idea how significant that quote was – and I had no idea how amazing it is to know, I said that. Thank you so much.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
